Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julie_alley

Job/schooling question

Julie_Alley
17 years ago

I was wondering if anyone could tell me what the people who go to tropical countries to collect samples of rare plants, find new species, and research the behavior and properties of these plants are called? Also, if this is what I want to do for a living, obviously I need science, what other qualifications do I need?

Thanks,

Julie

Comments (6)

• laag
    17 years ago

It is more likely that they are called trust funders and/or heirs and heiresses than anything else.

Seriously, your best bet would be do earn a doctorate and be a professoer of horticulture at a very prestigious university. That takes brains, hard work, money, and a great deal of luck as well.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    17 years ago

You can take this field in a variety of different directions. Personally, I've always been fascinated by Ethnobotany, which relates the plants to people. You ought to read "Tales of a Shaman's Apprentice" by Mark Plotkin. ;-)

Here is a link that might be useful: Check this out

• ian_wa
    17 years ago