Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sam7_gw

Should all horticulturalists be qualified? College project

Sam7
10 years ago

Hi everyone, I am currently studying my Level 3 in Horticulture and one of my several units include investigating a choosen subject area and I have chosen "Should all horticulturalists be qualified and would a trade body help?" I would appreciate any sort of opinion on this.
Thanks Sam.

Comments (8)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago

You'll need to explain what is meant by that statement.

• marcinde
    10 years ago

As a requirement to do the work? No, ESPECIALLY if there's an education requirement. I'm sure we all know brilliant plant whisperers who learned it all in the field.

I support a certification though. Here in VA we have a Virginia Certified Horticulturist designation. You have to pass an exam, and it's a nice way to let people know you have a clue.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago

Yes, there are various routes to becoming a horticulturist and I am not sure certification is necessary in all cases - it certainly does not alter one's knowledge base or experience :-)

But like marcinde, I do support certification. In my state as well there is a professional certification program and that does establish a commonality of experience and knowledge regardless of how it was achieved.

btw, the term is horticulturist - no "al" added :-))

• calliope
    10 years ago

It is quite OK in GB to refer to them as horticulturalists, though they are starting to use the term horticulturist more like in the U.S. You will find many reputable botanical publications referring to them as horticulturalists.