Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spruceitup_gw

pruning shrubs/perennials

spruceitup
15 years ago

i am relatively new to gardening...i guess you call it. last year, i removed nearly all of the foundation plants/shrubs around the house because they were overgrown and troublesome, not to mention rather ugly and dated. i made some fairly educated decisions on the new replacements and purchased some really good qulity stuff...and fairly substantial in size for being new plants.

i live in central indiana (zone 5) and i need some advice on how, when to prune these plants so they maintain the desired size and don't become unmanageable. please forgive me for not researching the pruning recommendations on this site or online. i have dial-up and it is soooo painfully slow. i hope to get some feedback soon as i have some time this weekend to attempt the pruning...provided it's timely. with this said, here's some of what i have.

diablo ninebark, everlow yews (evergreens that are to stay about 2-3' tall), juniper...with arching foliage that's to stay about 4' tall), dwarf miss kim lilac, liriope, perennial gereniums, little henry sweetspire, holly (it's got some berries now and should get about 4-5' tall), and lastly, double knockout roses (i want to keep these fairly small in size).

i appreciate any help you might give with some tips for pruning...time of year, amount to be pruned, etc. thanks!

Comments (4)

• duluthinbloomz4
    15 years ago

I've got dial-up, too. Maybe I've got a newer, faster computer... but you've got the upcoming winter to study up on pruning techniques.

And you'll have most of your weekend free because it's a little late in the season to start thinking about pruning the shrubs on your list - they don't have the time to harden off before cold weather sets in and you're quite apt to suffer more than normal dieback or the removal of next year's blooming growth.