Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plantgrl80

landscape design business startup

plantgrl80
14 years ago

Hello everyone; I am new to the site and looking for advice on what I need to do to get my business up and running. I am a landscape designer who has done a few years of work for a landscape design company in the midwest. I moved down to Florida and basically had to relearn my plants! I have decided after trying to work with a Design and Installation company doing designs,I might as well go on my own. I like the idea of being a freelance designer and having the liberty to design the way I want to design. However, I am finding myself fretting about all the details: finding contractors who I can trust and will do quality work, how to do business with them (ie; do I get a certain % for having them install my design for my client?)What about finding nurseries that will give me wholesale prices on plants that I can plant myself for clients? Also, I am having a catch22 with trying to build a Florida landscape portfolio without having any ACTUAL installed designs! Any suggestions? I appreciate it!

Comments (6)

• laag
    14 years ago

If I were to relocate my first concern would be getting people to find me in order to have a chance to get their design work. (this is not a problem for you?)

2. Setting myself up to be a better option than the next guy when I get that chance. That is where the portfolio comes into play, but you can overcome not having a local portfolio. It is not easy, but if your knowledge is deep and you can convey how your design sense displayed on your old turf (existing portfolio of built work) can be applied on your new turf, you'll be alright.