Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
growgirl_grow

Employment ?

growgirl_grow
16 years ago

Hello I have a degree in Hort. and live in Maine.Very seasonal unfortunately and every winter I find myself unemployed for three to four months,which I hate and really cant afford.

So my question to you is whats the best thing to do in this field.

My past employment has been with tow garden center nurseries,production and landscaping.I also worked for a municipality gardening for two summers.Hated that way of employment.

I have a brain and know what I am doing but just dont seem to have the luck of finding a good place to work or know which direction to go to next.

Comments (4)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    16 years ago

Do you have an Associate or a Bachelor degree?

If you are interested in pursuing year 'round employment, there are several on-line websites that specialize in horticultural positions. I am assuming that you would be interested in re-locating, but I may be incorrect about that!

Even if you want to stay put, looking around in those websites will let you see what kinds of jobs are out there, and what the best employers are looking for in a successful candidate.

Good luck!

• watergal
    16 years ago

Unless you can get into a senior position in management or some such, horticulture is going to be pretty seasonal, there's no getting around that. Especially somewhere cold.

Are you interested in indoor tropical plants? Interiorscaping is a year round job. I made the switch and loved it, but then again, indoor plants were and are my first passion. Email me if you want to know more, or do a search here for "interior landscaping".

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    16 years ago