Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
geekdean

Cloning machine

geekdean
12 years ago

I picked up a used American Agritech Cloning machine a while back and have finally pulled it out and cleaned it up and tested it. I have the solution in hand and have new spray heads and neoprene plugs on the way. I am looking for advice on using the machine as I am new to this thing but understand how it works.

I have it in an unused commercial building that stays about 40-50 degrees without heat over winter. Can I use it to start dormant hardwood cuttings, evergreens?

Any hints on lighting, heating, weather or not to start with it now or wait till spring?

Thanks much,

Dean

Comments (8)

• peggiewho
    12 years ago

How fun, I am making a machine. I am using a storage tub. I built a manifold and have the correct sprayers. Solution and plugs are on the way. I have been hanging out on YouTube with the stoners to get this thing together. I am doing this in my laundry room. I usually do cuttings in Turface and moss in the garage but have to quit when it gets too hot so I wanted this in a conditioned space. I have a double width heat mat under the tub. The mat is on Styrofoam to insulate it from the floor. I have a thermostat for the heat mat and it is dialed in at 72*. Too cool and the plants move too slowly, too hot and you get pathogens in the water. Heat is the usual problem because the pump produces some heat and lighting adds more. I have a 2 blub florescent fixture on a timer and plan to keep it a foot over the cuttings. I will try to keep PH at 6. I plan to used filtered water. I expect good roots in 10 to 14 days on regular plants and at least twice that for hardwood. I would love to make some clones of my coral bark Japanese maple for a friend. I am going to try dormant wood. I think I will have to figure out thinner plugs. I was repotting a calibrachoa and petunia pot today and the internode spacing is very tight. The plugs will be too thick.