Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
themidnightgarden

Dummies Guide to Redwood Cuttings (please help :) )

TheMidnightGarden
11 years ago

I am very new to all of this, and want to try to root some redwood cuttings. Can someone please help?

I am still VERY new to all of this, and I dont even know what half of the stuff even means yet LOL - so someone with a ton of patience, who would be willing to give some VERY simple step by step instructions would be a blessing!

My very first question (just to show how bad I am at this stuff)......If I manage to get a cutting to grow, will it grow into a real tree, or will it just sprout some needles/branches?

Comments (3)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

once a green piece ... gets roots ... by my definition ... all the parts are there.. and it will be a tree ... what more would you want/need???

i would enjoy specific questions.. but i have no interest in typing out a masters thesis on propagation of trees ... Dirr has done that.. and google is a wonderful resource..

but if you want words upon which to search.. i will bop in every now and then and try to lead you down the road ...

the first most important thing.. is to learn what age of cutting will root easier ... there is a window of opportunity as to such ... younger stuff rotting.. older stuff dying ...

then you would need to target knowledge about pots.. media.. heat.. humidity.. light ... lol.. nothing to it ...

whatever you do.. have fun learning.. and good luck

ken

ps: google: PROPAGATION TREES DIRR ...

• kayjones
    11 years ago

Perhaps this will guide you:

Redwood trees are both the tallest and oldest trees on earth.
    While once a genus with a number of species, Sequoia now only contains two, S. sempervirens and S. giganteum. The former, also known as the coast redwood, is the one most commonly seen along the northern California coast and into Oregon.