Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cellscape

Clones for the Spring

viridis
16 years ago

I just built a cloning machine and was wondering if anyone had suggestions of plants to clone for the spring. I took a medium dark storage container, drill 30 holes in the top and ran an air stone from a pump in the container. I filled it up with water, bought 30 reusable cutting plugs from the garden store, got some root /cutting hormone and a plant flourescent from Lowes which I hung 2.5 feet above it. I've already rooted Rosemary and it worked like a charm in 2 weeks. My goal is to find plants early and start them inside from cuttings and share them with friends as well as use them in my yard. I'm new at this so recommendations on the process and what to try cloning would be great.

Comments (8)

• conifers
    16 years ago

Hi, I've been looking at machines that sound similar to what you're doing there. This has sparked my mind greatly. Any chance you could tell me a little more about how the plants are being rooted? How many air stones are you using + size of your container and are you circulating a water/nutrient source or something else and if so, how? I'd also be interested to know your total investment without the lighting (I'm intersted in incorporating something in a greenhouse).

In the meantime here's a list of plants successfully propagated in a machine that uses spray nozzles enriched with micro/macronutrients and an organic pesticide and some additional links.

This looks like the future to me as well as a friend of mine. However as this friend of mine recently said to me, why would I want to pay someone else to mist my cuttings (roots)...? Still worthwhile information to read in addition to your system and I'd like to know what you think of yours and then this, please. nice work!

Also, could you show photos of how everything in your system works? Or describe in more detail? Ultimately, I'd really like to see some photos.

Congratulations. Indeed...

Dax