Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ratilda_gw

Is it possible to save this forsythia?

ratilda
16 years ago

Good day to everybody!

I'm a freshman in gardening, and I need your advice.

I have planted several forsythias along the property border between mine and an empty neighboring lots. Yesterday, the construction has started on that lot, and one of the construction workers, a heavy guy, stepped on my favorite forsythia bush. This bush had the longest stems and it was growing right in front of my kitchen window, and was flowering beautifully during last spring. The construction guy stepped on this plant and broke the main stem, and now, the poor thing [forsythia] is detached from its roots.

I would really like to save this plant, but I would also like to save it as large as it is. I mean, I know there's a method of making short hardwood cuts in winter and planting them in spring, but I prefer not to cut this plant.

Is there any way to help this forsythia to grow new roots?

Thank you!

Ratilda, Central NJ

Comments (7)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    16 years ago

cheer up ...

if he actually killed it.. let me know.. i will invite him over to get rid of a few of mine ...

ignore the plant in the ground... maybe a few stakes and some caution tape... will avoid further abuse ... it will come back ... remove the broken branch as near to the ground as you can ....

as for the branch .... make a nice cut flower display of 1 to 2 foot stems.. in a vase.. i will bet a buck they will flower in the house within a week ...

and thereafter root .. it is one of the easiest rooters ...

then your problem will be .... what to do with all the new plants .... pot them up .... before the water roots get too long.... and put them on the window sill ...

now go make sure the rest of your plants are protected from those big ugly boots .... good luck

ken

PS: google FORCING FORSYTHIA for more info ... never mind.. i did it for you .. hit the link ....