Return to the Plant Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help on red twig dogwood

Posted by lauranell 8 South Mississippi (lnw3602@aol.com) on
Fri, Jan 16, 09 at 14:33

I am pretty new to the propagation business. I found this site very helpful, thanks.

I have had some red twig dogwood cuttings, diped in horomone and in the soiless mix for a week or so now. They already have little leaves on them. When do I take them out a check for roots and/or put them in their own pots? Do I just leave them alone for a while?

I have cuttings of several others too. Chocolate vine, Pink flowering Almond, muscadine vine. Is the answer to the dogwood the same for all of these?

Thanks.

Lauranell

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need help on red twig dogwood

Red twig roots quickly, but not that fast. Are you using any bottom heat? Are the cuttings outside? Are they enclosed in plastic or open air?

Even under optimal conditions, I'd say 4-8 weeks to root based on my experience. Leaves don't mean anything except that the cuttings have come out of dormancy.

o

I have two sets of the dogwoods. One in sand and the other in the soilless soil stuff. They are both inside with plastic over them. The ones in the "soil" did start having leaves sooner, the the sanded ones have them now too. I'll wait to have a look for about a month I guess. Thanks for the input.
Lauranell

o

I just wanted to add that as of today, (I had to see) I actually do have roots. They are about 1/4 inch long but they are roots non the less, or are they?

lauranell

o

Could be. Not everything abides by rules in nature. I've had some dormant cuttings root incredibly fast while others took months and never put out enough to pot up. Like these blasted figs I'm trying to root in the baggies.

o