Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dave_63

Apple tree grafting question

dave_63
10 years ago

Hi all,
I joined up to the forum today so I thought I'd take the opportunity to sort out a problem I'm having with grafting:

I have an unknown apple variety that's been in for about 8 years now. The label identified it as a Peasgood Nonsuch on dwarf rootstock when it was planted but it clearly isn't and the apples aren't particularly good so I decided to try grafting.

I have a Cox's Orange Pippin not doing that well, and I bought a new 2 year old Freyburg recently which needed pruning back when it was planted, so I cut some scion wood off both for grafting onto the unknown apple tree.

As I'm new to grafting I did not want to cut the entire tree down and try the graft from down near the ground so I cut four of the branches off, each about 18" from the trunk. I grafted the Cox's onto 2 of them and the Freyburg onto the other 2 limbs. All grafts have taken well and the Freyburg graft has even fruited.

Although the apples are not near maturity I have noticed that they are not the same as on my 2 year old Freyburg maiden. They are the same shape and colour as the apples that I've grafted the scion wood on to (the ones I don't like).

Is this because I have not taken the graft back to the original rootstock? I was hoping to create a tree with half Cox's and half Freyburg but it looks like I've created something else. I was under the impression that I would get the same variety of apples as I got on the original scion wood source. After reading many articles on grafting I've not seen this discussed at all.

Thanks for your advice guys!
Dave

Comments (13)

• alan haigh
    10 years ago