Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rlcouncil

Propagating for landscaping purposes

rlcouncil
13 years ago

I am new at the flower, shrub, and tree growing business so I have a couple of questions. I have a large piece of land in the country in central Florida. Most of the yard is shaded with large Oak trees with a couple of sun pockets. My goal is to grow many of my own shrubs and flowers from propagation to use for landscaping purposes. I built myself a small greenhouse (10�X16�) to use for growing. I bought a couple of Azaleas, cassias, and camellias. My first question is, are these kinds pretty easy to propagate? And are there any other plants great for landscaping in Florida that you would suggest? I have plenty of land that I can do many things with.

My next question is, I have a large compost pile made up of oak leaves, cow manure, grass clippings, hay, and any vegetable and kitchen goodies we can throw in there. Is this good to use to start the clippings in? Also is this a bad time of year to start propagating, or should I wait until the weather warms up a bit.

Another question is how long does it usually take from when I start the cutting to when the plant is large and strong enough to put into the ground? I have plenty of time I am just curious. Like I said before I am new to this so any advice would be much appreciated.

Comments (2)

• madrone
    13 years ago