Return to the Plant Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Where to get bulk plastic pots?

Posted by pointfinder 7 (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 20, 07 at 10:15

Hello, I'm a newbie so I hope this is the right place to post this. I am planning on selling some plants this year and need a good place to buy 6" plastic pots for my liners and divisions. I found B&T Supply online that sells them at $40 for 200, so thats about $200 for one thousand - which is how many I'd like to start with. Does this sound good or is there a better place to try. Thanks,

John

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Where to get bulk plastic pots?

A M Leonard has some VCB15 which are 4 1/2" x 6" at 770 for $73.99 plus shipping http://www.amleo.com/index/item.cgi?cmd=view&Words=vcb15 If this will work for you it will be a little cheaper.

o

Thanks Mickey, that looks pretty good but isnt that made of the rigid plastic as oposed to the more flexible blow mold type? The rigid ones crack and break after a while.

o

These are what I'm using to pot up my liners. I don't plan on keeping them around that long.

o

sounds like you found a better deal,the ones i was going to tell you about are 6"x5.75" @ 440 for 108$ , thanks ill check out your sources. this was harris seeds

o

If either of you are into wholesale, there is BWI, a wholesale garden supply company.

You can google them.

Janie

o

I get most of my pots used either from local landscapers who are delighted to get anywhere from a dime to a quarter each for them, or from our recycling center. I've found perfectly good garden hoses for $3 each! Might check it out.

o

Some great ideas! Thanks all.

o

• Posted by jrod z7 NM (My Page) on
    Tue, Feb 20, 07 at 23:34

Used pots are great but I would highly recommend sterilizing the containers before using. I worked at a nursery and we lost thousands of dollars worth of plants because of diseases spread by using pots that were not sterilized.

o