Return to the Plant Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Air Layering Hong Kong Orchid Tree

Posted by immobilus none (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 8, 13 at 10:56

Hello:

I've been trying to air layer my Hong Kong orchid tree for a few months. I scraped the bark off a limb that needs to come off and wrapped it with foil and mycorrhizae enriched soil. I haven't had it in plastic but put on plastic yesterday to see if it would help. My theory was the foil would keep the branch warm during winter nights.

Is it possible for trees to propagate by air layering while dormant or should I assume that nothing is going to happen until the tree comes out of dormancy? How long should air layering take before roots are established enough that you can remove the limb?

This is my first attempt at air layering.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Air Layering Hong Kong Orchid Tree

It won't root while dormant. You need to be very patient for air layering. Here is an old thread on the subject of propagating Bauhinia blakeana.

Here is a link that might be useful: Bauhinia

o

Yea, I saw that. Hong Kong Orchid Trees don't produce seeds though. Only options are cuttings and air layering. i've heard that air layering is easier than propagating by cutting - but that both are extremely difficult.

o

I tried AL this tree but I did it in late spring. It rooted nicely in about 6-8 weeks. I lost it when I detached it from the mother plant, but this is a step that I haven't mastered yet. I hope this helps.

o

Then perhaps leave on for three months and this immediately pot, no fertilizer for the first six months except root stimulant? Curious, what did you do after removing the branch?

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!

Return to the Plant Propagation Forum

Information about Posting