Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
haywoodplanter

Aloe/ is that a root or a shoot?

haywoodplanter
19 years ago

My school's greenhouse has an aloe plant that has reached out of it's pot and started two other large plants which I would like to transplant. I know aloe is easy to grow by cuttings, does anyone know if there is any trick to aloe root cuttings, or are the woody stems hanging out of the pot actually shoots, not roots? Should I try and get more than two more plants from these shoots? I am a first year Horticulture student at Haywood Community College. Anyone got an answer, let me know. Thanks!

Comments (17)

• turtleman49
    19 years ago

The woody stem is the flowers stalk, it in itself isnt rootable but the seeds behind the flower/pod are.

Your much better to take the "pups" off and root them, once you've removed them simply place them in another container and "DONT water them", If you in an auto water system take the cuttings to another place and allow the cutting wound to caclus or heal, then place in soil

• jeffrey_harris
    19 years ago

Dear Hay,

There's an Aloe FAQ at the C&S Forum that give the information you need.

I would detach the pups only when they're of a large enough size to be rooted on their own. Like watering succulents, if in doubt, don't -they'll be fine. Personally, I'd wait until warmer weather.

Here's the link to the Aloe FAQ - let me know if you have any further questions.

Aloe Nut Jeff

Here is a link that might be useful: Aloe FAQ

• baci
    19 years ago

Are the woody stems you are describing at the base of the aloe or at the top? The flower stalks on the aloes I have seen come out of the top or from the center of the aloe. On leaf cuttings, let the leaf dry a bit & then plant in a shady area. There is a higher die off rate with leaf cuttings, but that is how I root them.

• jeffrey_harris
    19 years ago

Dear Baci,