Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ceglia_gw

Time to propogate my succulent?

ceglia
14 years ago

I have a succulent that's grew really rapidly and is now a little oddly shaped. Here's an image below (the gangly green guy, ignore the Aeonium in the blue vase).

I've been told I should cut the shoots and replant them, but I've never done this before so I was hoping to get some advice about which shoots to cut and where/how. I guess I'd need to cut the ones that drape off the side of the vase in a kind of "U" shape, but if I do that, will they then grow straight?? And what about the central main shoots, the ones that are more or less straight, should it cut those too and replant them? They seem a bit tall, so I thought that might be a good idea? I'm new to all of this, so sorry if these are stupid questions.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

Comments (3)

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    14 years ago

It should be a piece of cake to take cuttings from your succulent and get them to root. You could take tip cuttings from the ones hanging over the side and root them, but, if you use the whole stem, it may be harder to manage because of the "U" shape. In the picture, the dangling stem on the left (the one more clearly visible) looks to have around 9 or 10 nodes above the "U". I would cut just beyond the "U" and try to root the straight part. Alternately, you could bury part of the "U", because you wouldn't be able to see the buried part anyway. With the straight stems, cut them at whatever level you think would look best.