Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plants77_gw

Aeroponic cloning basic questions

plants77
15 years ago

I had been toying around with the idea of aeroponic cloning for a while, designing it in my head. I had a continuing education course (I'm a science teacher) today that touched on it and hydroponics culture and am going to put a simple clone machine together - for my own gratification and as a project for my students.

First, with respect to the resovoir in the tub the cuttings hang in, how close to the cuttings should the water level be? Is the idea that the pump just spits a minute amount of moisture or should there be a consistent misting happening?

Second, are you using just plain water or a nutrient solution, like conventional hydro. Also, what about adding an algaecide to the solution, or captan? Both? Any data on how they effect rooting? Or any experience? If a little bit of diltuted chemical can reduce the amount of time I spend changing out the solution it's worth it.

Finally, I don't like the look of the neoprene or foam slips holding the cutting. Why not just submerge a small net pot with rock wool media?

Comments (4)

• token28001
    15 years ago

In my homemade machine, my cuttings are about 1/2" above the water level. My air pump runs 24/7. Softwood cuttings of tender plants root in about a week to 12 days. Cuttings from a pyracanthus took about 3 weeks. Some still haven't gotten past the callus stage after 5 weeks.

I use plain water with a little miracle grow transplant solution. Just half a cap full. It seems to work better than plain water. I keep my reservoir dark which keeps the algae growth to a minimum. I change the water about every 3 weeks (when I think about it).

Net pots should work fine. I've read mixed reviews on rockwool though. It seems to stay too wet which causes rot. Try expanded clay pellets instead to keep the water away from the cuttings.

• plants77
    Original Author
    15 years ago