Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
darrylenes

Shrub cuttings in a glass of water?

darrylenes
16 years ago

Hi:

I'm alittle confused at all the postings re this question.

What I would like to do is produce rooted cuttings for the following in a glass of water:

rugosa roses, forsythia, spirea, potentilla, boxwood, smokebush, sandcherry

Has anyone had success with any of these specifically?

Do I use hardwood (winter) or softwood (spring) cuttings?

Do I put fertilizer in the water?

I'm sorry if this has been answered a million times over, but I'm on dialup and cannot check postings with 76 entries which probably has all the answers.

Many thanks for any advise!

Darrylene

Comments (4)

• growjo
    16 years ago

Darrylene,
    My experience at this is very limited as I am just learning also. I believe the roses, forsythia, boxwood are hardwood cuttings,the spirea, potentilla and sandcherry and smokebush are softwood. We've traded before so I'll have your mail address and will try to forward you some info sites I've found on propagation. I was taking cuttings a month ago and broke off an old stick of my blue artic willow, suck it in a small vase and its full of roots. I really enjoy propagation.
    Bye for now,
    growjo

• origami_master
    16 years ago