Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rolacoy

How are 2 liter bottles used to grow plants ?

rolacoy
14 years ago

I found a page on this forum where someone was explaining how to cut 2 liter soda water bottles and use them to grow plants. I can not located the page, but the discussion was all about how to cut the bottles and put them back together. the discussion did not cover in any detail as what they were used for.

My questions are:

How are they used ?

What advantages do they offer ?

I am new at plants and am trying to learn how to root cuttings.

Comments (4)

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    14 years ago

My guess is that the thread you saw was talking about starting seeds and maybe winter sowing seeds. The bottle tops are retained to keep the soil from quickly drying out, and, in the case of winter sowing, can also be used to help provide a little more stable temperature. You can create a moisture tent with about anything, including sticks and plastic wrap. But the soda bottles are free (you already have them) and are pretty easy to make and use. BTW, be sure to check out the FAQ sections in some of the forums, especially the winter sowing forum. You'll find lots of ideas and information there.

• chadinlg Zone 9b Los Gatos CA
    14 years ago

There is a fellow on the site who likes to experiment with different ways to grow plants in containers. Basically it is a pot inside a larger container. The outside container has no holes and retains water. The inner pot is filled with soil mix and allows water to drain into the lower pot - otherwise it would be totally hydroponic. A plant can adapt to both conditions - with "normal" roots in the upper portion and "water" roots in the lower. A wick can be used to insure water contact from lower to upper. Advantages to this can be the novelty or "fun" aspect of doing something different. Also these are somewhat SWC (self watering containers) which can help with the watering chores.

As far as rooting cuttings: