Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angelbuck

Question about Golden Pothos / Devils Ivy clippings

angelbuck
18 years ago

A few months ago I reveived a Golden Pothos as a gift. I took clippings from it and placed them in a glass of water. The roots are now well formed and I'm ready to pot them in soil. I was wondering how many clippings should you pot together to eventually form a new full plant? Can you plant three clippings together and have them eventually grow full? Or do you need to plant several together? I am new to this plant, so I really don't know it's growing habits yet. Any information will be greatly appreciated. I have searched the web and have found everything else I need to know about propagating devils ivy except for this, they don't tell you how many clippings you need to plant together. Thank you in advance for all your help.

Comments (8)

• best_botanist
    18 years ago

if you rooted the plant in water, with pathos, they sometimes go into shock when planted from water to soil, try to put them in soil when the rootes are a little lest than an inch, that will reduce the occurance of shock, but back to your question, kind of lay them in a criss-cross patten in the soil and they will grow and fill out the pot. hope they take well.
    - Robert

• keilamarie
    18 years ago

Hi,

I'm rather new at cuttings but I took a cutting from my Golden Pothos, kept it in water for about a week and just stuck it in soil, it's growing like a weed. I have loads more to do too since one of my plants is about 8 feet long, lol.

Keilamarie

• angelbuck
    Original Author
    18 years ago