Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mo_upstate

Dividing Salvia 'Black & Blue'

mo_upstate
14 years ago

I've been overwintering this plant in my basement for the past 2 years. Right now it has about 2 feet of weak, lanky top growth. It's roots are twisting around the container, and filling it up. I want / need to divide this plant, but have some questions:

1) How much top growth can I safely remove without killing the plant.

2) Should I also cut back the roots?

3) Can I plant the divisions outside now? (Zone 5)

My intention was to take cuttings from the mother plant, but 23 out of 24 of them wilted and died.

I would appreciate any help anyone can give me. Thanks.

Comments (9)

• GawdinFever
    14 years ago

It's considered an annual in all areas except zones 7-9. I wouldn't plant divisions until it warms up more and chance of frost is past.

Inevitably the roots will have to be cut for the division, but I wouldn't cut any more than necessary. As far as the top growth, I would cut it back to about 6 inches.

You could divide it now so the new roots could get a head start. Put them in a South facing window or under some lights.

• mo_upstate
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for your help Gawdinfever. I'll divide this tomorrow.

Would now be a good time to try cuttings again since I will be cutting off so much top growth? Anyone have any good suggestions for me? (I've never been able to successfully propagate by cuttings.)

• GawdinFever
    14 years ago

You could, but since you say the top is lanky growth from being inside, you might have better success after the plant is brought back to a healthy state and actively growing again.

When you take your cuttings, are you using a rooting hormone?

• mo_upstate
    Original Author
    14 years ago