Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scott_saunders_gw

Absolute beginner with a cutting

scott_saunders
14 years ago

A friend gave me a salvia greggii cutting and told me how to put in soil. So I did that a couple of days ago and today realized that I have no idea what to do next. I know it will take three weeks or so for rooting to happen, but what else should I expect? The leaves have started to sag as though it's dying - is that normal? will the cutting turn into a dead looking twig and then come back? Or should it stay healthy looking?

Do I need to do anything other than keep the soil moist?

Thanks for any help.

Comments (8)

• GawdinFever
    14 years ago

Directly in the ground with no roots? Without roots, the cutting doesn't have a way to 'drink'. Granted some might root this way, but I haven't had much success like that.

Try this link

Here is a link that might be useful: cuttings of salvia greggii...

• scott_saunders
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Yes, with no roots. Isn't that what a cutting is? There are two nodes in the soil with the leaves stripped off.

Thanks for the link. I think I've done what is suggested there. My real question is about what to expect next. Should the cutting look fresh and vibrant, or will it sag? Should the leaves stay green or will they brown and fall off?

• GawdinFever
    14 years ago

The leaves probably will fall off. The plant gets rid of foliage it can't support in times of stress. I'd keep some kind of cover over it not only to shade it, but for humidity as well. Maybe a jug or 2 liter bottle?

• scott_saunders
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks

• Suzi AKA DesertDance So CA Zone 9b
    14 years ago

I tried olive tree cuttings last year and I stripped off all the leaves but one, and cut that one in half. I dipped the end in rooting hormone, and stuck them both in the ground.