Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aquarius1974

grafting/budding techniques

aquarius1974
19 years ago

I have what will probably seem like a goofy question but I am new to propagation.

I understand how you get a new plant from cutting and layering and division (even been successful!)but when I have tried to figure out grafting and budding for the trees that don't root easily, I don't understand how you get the new tree.

Sounds stupid, I know. But everything that I have found shows you how to graft, bud, chip and the like but not how you walk away with a separate cloned tree ready to plant. I have fruit trees that I would love to be able to multiply: peach and paw paw. If anyone could draw me a roadmap I sure would appreciate it.

I love this forum! I have found so much beneficial info already :)

Comments (6)

• georgez5il
    19 years ago

If you wish to graft /bud/ you start with a plant of the same species..... then you follow the techniques shown in the book.... after the graft "takes" & shows growth (a new /fresh) branch you revove (above the graft) the top of the root stock you then have a root system of one plant & a top of the desired plant. this may then be transplanted where you wish them to grow.

• Cosmo66_OK
    18 years ago

New to this as well... So, if I buy a "grafted" tree and later I want to take a cutting for propagation purposes, is there a problem? Or is it like any other tree cutting?

Cosmo66_OK, who is kinda confused about this grafting stuff.

• Millie_36
    18 years ago