Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
theresawa

Daphne Porpagation

theresawa
11 years ago

I am not sure as to what kind of Daphne I have, however I was wondering what time of year to take cuttings from it to make a new plant. I have never done this before. No idea as to what time of year is best to do this. Where on the plant to take the cutting from. ETC. lol Any info would be helpful.

Here's a picture of it:

Comments (18)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    11 years ago

You have Daphne odora 'Marginata' often called "Winter Daphne". Every year I start a few cuttings at about this time. They usually are maddeningly slow to root, but they don't die. Once roots start they grow fast enough. Al

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

hi

welcome to GW ...

most of us would start at the link ... and get a general base of knowledge..

and then come back here with specific questions ...

in fact.. the 3rd link down.. is your title EXACTLY.. and a post in the GW.. which has its own search function, near the top ...

good luck

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: link

• theresawa
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the advice. I did do numerous searches about this plant and everyone has something different to say, which made it very confusing. Some people had said that this plant dies after a couple of years with no reason for dying but I have had mine for at least 8 years, having never pruned it or watered it except when I first planted it. Gonna try and take some cuttings in the next few days and see how they do. Any suggestions as to what works best for rooting.. (meaning just in water or doing the root compound and plant in dirt? or do it in water and do a greenhouse affect with it? do you put the cuttings to root in sun or indirect sun?) ugh so many questions..lol I have never done any kind of propagation before and not really a big gardener either, just sort of starting out.

11 years ago