Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arylkin

forsythia cuttings in water, and growth the first year

arylkin
10 years ago

I have a large area that I want to plant a forsythia hedge. I do have one large shrub, so I'm thinking of starting cuttings (I've never done it before). I've read that forsythia is easy however, so that gives me hope.

Could I cut a bunch of cuttings and then put them all together in a bucket to root, or would they need to be in separate jars?

Once they've been rooted a bit and planted in pots, I was wondering how much growth I can expect the first (and second) year. Will I still need to be taking careful care with watering even in the second year?

I have a large area to cover, so cuttings seem like an economical way to go, but I would like some coverage sooner than later.

Also, I live in zone 5- will they be able to be overwintered and live planted outside this early summer and survive being in the ground without any protection other than a bit of mulch this winter?

Comments (3)

• eibren
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You can root them all together, as long as they are not placed so close together that they rub off their leaves or buds and have a bit of air space between them. If you use a rooting hormone you should have a higher success rate, but forsythia is one of the easier plants to root.

I would tend to wait until after your forsythia shrub flowers, as the flowering process will probably use up the energy that would otherwise go into roof formation, but if you have enough sprouts to try it a couple of ways, you may wish to start some right away as well.. You can just prune off the shoots you need. Definitely try to start rooting them before the leaves emerge. Younger shoots will probably root more readily than really old, hard wood. Choose stems that are still flexible.

Include a few extra shoots for rooting, as not all will "take".