Return to the Plant Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Urgent: help grafted branch broken

Posted by home624 none (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 8, 13 at 22:24

Hi,
I bought a 4 in 1 grafted apple tree. During high winds, one of the branches broke and was dangling on few fibers. It seems to have broken where it was grafted. I managed to temporarily put duct tape and tie it back to its original position with a stick to support it. Is that enough to save it? If not please suggest me some ideas, preferably home remedies as it might take a while to get grafting supplies. I am new to gardening and newer did any grafting. The broken branch is about a feet long and 7-8 mm thick with some flowers on it.
Thanks so much

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Urgent: help grafted branch broken

near impossible w/o pix..

but if it was dangling on a few fibers ... how do you imagine water is going to move thru it ...

most likely a goner .... as to that one branch ...

is it still under warranty???... what did they say about it ...

this is somewhat common on these gimmick plants ... well.. at least on the two i had long ago ...

ken

o

I've saved a few branches/stems this way over the years, but never one dangling by fibers. Just don't forget to remove the tape as soon as possible (when the wound has healed) if the branch lives. Trimming some of the end off could help, to decrease weight stress and the amount of mass relying on that break to heal.

Good luck!

o

Just don't forget to remove the tape as soon as possible (when the wound has healed)

==>> to mix an analogy...

the skin may heal.. but the interior wood will NEVER heal ..

especially if you suspend a fruit at the end of the branch ...

ken

o