Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jebs_gw

selling rooted plant cutings

jebs
15 years ago

I'm new to this and a'm trying to do some research prior to jumping in full force. I want to start mist propagating shrubs and trees but is there a market for the selling of these as liners and were can I find a list of prospective buyers. It would be nice to earn some extra money on the side if possible. But i don't want to spend the time and money if i can't sell them. Any advice would help thanks

Comments (19)

• jebs
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I would also like to know if any one has and inexpensive but practical mist propagation system with plans to help me get started

• jebs
    Original Author
    15 years ago

THIS MAY BE A STUPID question but how do you ship rooted tree or shrub cuttings (Liners) In pots or bare root? and where do you buy these containers thanks

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    14 years ago

Take a look through the tread below. The discussion is a little more broad than your question, but it should shed a lot of light on various aspects you'll need to consider.

Here is a link that might be useful: Thread About a Similar Topic in the Professional Gardener Forum

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    14 years ago

Here's another similar thread with more info.

Here is a link that might be useful: Another Thread from the Professional Gardener Forum

• jebs
    Original Author
    14 years ago

thanks these articles help i really just want start this out as a hobby then see were it goes i really need plans for a small mist system i have a hobby green house and want to use it to it's fullest.

• bubba62
    14 years ago

A great book for anyone interested in entering any aspect of the horticulture business is "So You Want To Start a Nursery" by Tony Avent of Plant Delights Nursery in NC. It's in our public library - might be worth checking it out.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    14 years ago