Return to the Plant Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Sedum - how to take cuttings

Posted by maryleek_AR z7 (My Page) on
Sat, May 28, 05 at 11:22

I'm new to plant propagation and would like to grow more plants from a just purchased Sedum - Autumn Joy.

My plant has two very thick stems, each about 25 inches tall and about 1 inch in diameter. Can I take several 'cuttings' from one stem trimming or only use the tip of each stem? What length should each cutting be? How much stem should remain on the plant? 50-50 Peat and Perlite for the medium or ?

Thank you for your assistance.

~Mary_AR_z7

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Sedum - how to take cuttings

marryleek, i use 50/50 sand and peat moss for growing medium. cut sterm 10" long, remove lower leaves and let it heal in shade for a day. then stick the cutting about 4" in the grow medium, place them on filter sun area water sparingly until new grow appear. good luck to you, tuanh

o

Hi Tuanh,

Thank you so much for these detailed instructions. You have been so helpful.

About how long will it take for the new growth to appear? I assume the new growth will be little shoots at the base of the stem?

~Mary_AR_z7

o

I have the same question. I thought that those shoots wouldn't take. I assumed I would have to take a green part from the base..

I did the shoots last year and nothing took. Perhaps I did it incorrectly.

Thanks

o

OK, I've trimmed off the tops of the Sedum plant. I'm letting the ends cure by air, then I will dip in rooting hormone and stick in the 50/50 mix.

The removed lower leaves I dipped in rooting hormone and stuck the ends into damp 50/50 Perlite and Peat mix.

A couple of days ago I took two leaves that had broken away from the stalk and stuck them in a damp rooting mix. They were dry on the end. This will be a third experiment, using a leaf that had a dry, cured end.

I will report back with the results.

~Mary_AR_z7

o