Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
futurenurse

What is a witches broom and why is it special?

futurenurse
18 years ago

Hi~

I've noticed what I believe to be a witches broom on my neighbor's Japanese Red Maple. It is a branch that sticks out from the regular shape of the tree, and has a dense branching of its own.

I know these brooms are favorites for propagators...but I'm wondering...why? Is there a difference in the genetics of these brooms...different than the rest of the tree? Why are these variations propagated?

~D

P.S. Yes...I'll probably get a cutting and propagate it :-). My name is Darlene and I am a pertetual propagator... :-)

Comments (17)

• mgood4u
    18 years ago

Hi Darlene,
    I am a z6 future nurse as well! I am not sure about the brooms you are talking about. From what I know a witches broom is a disease of a woody plant caused by leafhoppers and Aphids and such. It makes bunches of bare stems that resemble a witches broom. That's all I know. I suppose if this is the case they would be quickly removed as it would kill the rest of the plant. But, this doesn't sound like the broom you are reffering to. I'll have to check into that! Happy gardening and nursing!

~mgood4u

• futurenurse
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Hi~

I have 3 more weeks until the end of this quarter and I can hardly wait!!! This quarter is Med/Surg and Peds. I am so burned out I can hardly stand it...summer will feel so good--

Another member suggested that I google "witches broom" which was an excellent suggestion...it is frequently propagated because it makes nice bonsai plants. The branch I saw is not a true witches broom (sadly), but I'm am on the lookout for one. It would be great to propagate and see if I can start a bonsai plant from "scratch".

I'm a nut about gardening too...I actually have a rainsuit that I put on when it is too muddy or raining. Most people stay inside!

LOL

:-)

• mgood4u
    18 years ago