Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hassified

Dogwood and japanese maple question

hassified
14 years ago

Hey everyone,

Just want to let everyone know that I'm new to gardenweb.com and growing plants. I came across this fourm while doing a google search, trying to find info on rooting cuttings from a red/pink(?) dogwood tree and a japanese maple tree. The dogwood is a beautiful tree that's about 40yrs old, and would like to clone several so to plant along a fence line.

I read these two posts, one is about an "Easy Propagation Chamber" and the other is a "Homemade Cloning Machine" bothe are very interesting to me.

Here are the links:

http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/propa/msg1020340019335.html?150

http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/propa/msg0115553510381.html?47

My question is, will either one of these techniques work for me?

Which is better sand or the peat moss?(for the "Easy Propagation Chamber")

How much water is needed and does the end of the cutting soak in the water?(for the "Easy Propagation Chamber")

After cutting, how long do I have before the cuttings go bad?(Do I have to go directly into the chambers or do I have some time before going into the chamers?)

Right now its about mid spring. Should I do this indoors?

If rooting does happen, can I transplant this year or wait till next spring.

And finally, will the new little dogwood trees grow to flower pink or will they be white?(I ask this because I read that dogwoods have to be made pink by buding or grafting.)

Thanks in advance.

Comments (4)

• yiorges-z5il
    14 years ago