Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
poitou2

Help Please for Hydrangea Cuttings

poitou
10 years ago

I am quite new to cuttings and last week I did my first hydrangea cuttings. Please would you look at the photo and see if they look right. It seems they are starting to send out roots from the node above the soil. Have I cut them too long? What should I do next?

Thank you for your help.

PS I take the fish tank off for a couple of hours round midday.

Comments (16)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    10 years ago

They look OK to me. Any nodes above the soil will grow shoots not roots. Do not get impatient and remove cover before they are rooted. Al

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    10 years ago

I rooted cuttings about a month ago and I, too, had numerous roots above the soil line on all of them. It was kind of strange. But boy, were those healthy little guys! They were fully rooted out within 19 days - unbelievable - and I went ahead and transplanted into the ground. They have continued to grow like gangbusters. I wish all of my cuttings were that successful.

Carol in Jacksonville

• poitou
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you very much for putting my mind at rest. When you say not to remove the cover before they are rooted, do you mean not at all? I thought it helped circulate the air and avoid disease to remove it for a little while each day.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    10 years ago

No I mean don't leave the cover off permanently before roots have formed. The way you are doing it is fine, and necessary. Al

• poitou
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Okay, thanks very much.

• poitou
    Original Author
    10 years ago

All the cuttings, except one whose stem went brown and died, now have little green swellings either side of the nodes. Does this mean they're rooted and I can leave the cover off? Or should it come off for a little longer each day? Please tell me what happens next.