Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ndgrower

Rooting Basil

ndgrower
14 years ago

If I take cuttings off some of my basil plants, stick them in some potting soil and keep moist, how long will it take for the roots to establish and the plant to start growing again? I want more basil to go with all my tomatoes. I am new to basil, and dont remember how old my other plants are, what i really want to know is do i have time in zone 3-4 to grow more basil from seed or would rooting cuttings be quicker?

Comments (8)

• nandina
    14 years ago

Basil roots quickly in water. Once rooted, fill starter pots with soil, stand them in a tray of water until thoughly soaked, plant the rooted basil and leave the pots in water overnight. Remove and slowly harden the basil off to full sun.

• Suzi AKA DesertDance So CA Zone 9b
    14 years ago

I'm glad to hear basil roots easily in water. Mine is flowering, and I fear death, so I hacked off 6 stems, stuck them in water, and my fingers are crossed! Thanks!

14 years ago

How long does it take them to root in water? I'm changing the water daily and keeping them misted.

14 years ago

I'm replying to my own post in case others would like to know how long for basil roots to appear. I started them on July 2nd, and it is now July 9th, and today the first roots appeared on 2 cuttings. I have 4 that lived, and they all have healthy basil leaves with the stems hanging in the water. Only 2 rooted so far, but I think the others will. Two died. Not bad. 4 out of 6 seems pretty good to me!

I am going to keep changing the water daily until I see bountiful roots, and then I'll pot them up.

• golfngardennut
    14 years ago

if you put an air bubbler from a fish tank in the water, it will root within a week I think. hydroponics might be able to provide extra info....

• artworksmetal
    14 years ago