Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mailbox0600

How to root in plastic baggies ? Bougainvillea or whatever ?

mailbox0600
17 years ago

I'm a newbie in central Florida.

I want to propagate some Bouganvillea and other plants. Bouganvillea first.

I've heard that putting the cuttings in baggies with some rooting hormone, the proper soil mix, and some water is the way to do it. Then seal the bag so the moisture stays inside. Keep 'em in the shade and wait.

Question 1 - Do you re-open the baggie and put more water in every day... or few days... or week... or what?

Question 2 - Do you cut a long branch or just the 3 or 4 inches at the end of a branch?

Question 3 - Do you cut it clean or at an angle?

Question 4 - What other tips can you folks share with me on the subject?

Thanks for any help.

MB

Comments (7)

• georgez5il
    17 years ago

1 you need to open baggie daily for air exchange .. prevent fungal infection,etc.... the additional water may or may not be needed check soil.... reamber the only way a plant may take in water is through the roots. 2. a 2-3 eye (node) cutting is the ideal length for most cuttings if use a long branch will be hard to keep in baggie & normally 2 times has hard to root. 3, your choice... the choice of strength of rooting hormone is best dictated buy experience (yours or others) The baggie is one of MANY!!!!! methods to keep the humidity high around a cutting & therefore slow dehydration of the plant till roots form....

• lynne_melb
    17 years ago

Mailbox, welcome to central Florida.
    In the summer, our humidity is so high that I don't think you need to use a baggie.
    I've had the most success with any kind of cutting to remove all but the top 3 leaves, but rooting powder on the cutting, and stick it in a container with holes in the bottom. Keep out of the sun, and water when it starts getting dry. Good luck.

• amaretto
    17 years ago

Hey, MB