Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yardenscapingyahoo

What type of cutting (leaf/stem/semi-hard/hard/root) do you take?

yardenscapingyahoo
12 years ago

Hi everyone! and thanks in advance to anyone that replies! I'm on a super tight gardening budget this year - and by super tight I mean the only way I'll be getting flowers/plants for my container garden is from taking cuttings/seeds from what I already have and what my friends/family are willing to let me take little "snips" of. I'm fairly new to propagating from cuttings - I have Purslane and Blue Daze (Evolvus) down pat, but I don't know what type of cutting and when to take them from ... pretty much anything else, I don't know if it's even possible to take cuttings from some stuff. Here's a list of the plants I have at my "snipping" disposal -

Clematis (Elsa Spath, Jackmanii, H.F. Young - I had 'the president' but it pooped out the first day it was 100 degrees - boo)

Balloon flower (platycodon grandiflorus - just the regular one and P.g. 'Mariesii')

Gaura

Black Eyed Susan

unknown variety of honeysuckle (I bought it a few years ago, it was supposed to be Scarlet Trumpet Honeysuckle, but I've yet to see it do anything other than smell like honeysuckle in the spring)

Burgundy Blanket Flower

Tizzy Blanket Flower (I don't know the scientific name, my friend told me the only info she could find was a sticker on the container that said "tizzy blanket flower" with a barcode)

Hosta (32 jillion varieties)

Flowering Quince

Coreopsis

Yucca

Chrysanthemums (I'm pretty sure they're Florists' Mums - they're 'single' flowered - my mom got them at the flower/pumpkin tent in front of the mall when I was like 8)

Columbine