Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenthumbs10

Propagating calibrachoa (million bells)

greenthumbs10
18 years ago

Hello, Has anyone had any luck propagating calibrachoa (million bells)? I just love this plant and would like to have one in every color. I have tried several different methods of propagation but it seems very difficult to get a viable plant baby from this cutie! If anyone has had any luck I would appreciate your advice. Also, does anyone know if it is possible to keep this plant alive indoors (not greenhouse) over the winter? Thanks. Donna

Comments (26)

• crazy4hydrangea
    18 years ago

A friend took some cuttings and stuck them down in some poting soil in the greenhouse and they rooted. She did say that they looked ruff for a little while I am not sure if the growth was slow at first. I was told in my area zone 8 that if I keep it under cover outside that it would come back but since this is my first year with them I am not sure what the outcome will be yet.

• Druid_of_the_vine
    18 years ago

try to take cuttings and use "roots". I cant say if it will work but thats how start

• gardenpaws_VA
    18 years ago

Answering the questions in reverse order -
    Yes, you can keep one over the winter. However, mine got aphids horribly! To do it again, I'd either root a cutting in August, or cut a stock plant way back in late August. That would keep it from being too leggy when brought indoors. I don't think it's worth doing more than "keeping it alive" while it's in the house.
    I had good success (if slow) rooting tip cuttings (from active growth) about an inch long in 50-50 fine perlite/vermiculite mix, moist but not wet, and totally enclosed. My guess is that they would have been much faster if I had used both rooting hormones and bottom heat. BTW, I washed off most of the aphids before sticking the cuttings, but the remaining bugs didn't seem to survive long in the cutting containers anyway.