Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redraif

Crepe/Crape Myrtle Cuttings... help...moisture issue (too much)?

redraif
13 years ago

Hi all,

Newbie here learning the how tos...

I did my research and searches and discovered how to take cuttings from a crape myrtle and root them. So I found my donor crape... nice pretty deep red that was not available at any nurserys when we got our 2 white ones.

I got a ton of semi-hard wood cuttings. Followed the directions from an article I found here:

Cuttings: 4-8 inch range,

striped all but a few leaves at the top,

dipped cut tip in rotting hormone,

used a 50/50 sand/peat mixture in pots,

poked a hole with a dibber,

put my cuttings in,

moistened soil (not too wet) damp,

covered in plastic bag,

kept in location that sees light, but not direct sunlight.

Noticed the soil is staying nice and damp.

2 of the 3 containers seem to have cuttings that are browning and getting white on them (mold or mildew)?

I made sure the bags were not airtight around the base as I know the plant needs to breathe. Hoped that would keep the humidity level about right.

What is happening? Are my cuttings failing? Did they need more or less air getting thru the bags? Do they need more light perhaps?

I can put them in a window that recieves partial morning light if thats what they need. I just did not want to put them in any direct sun as I read over and over to keep in shade or light but not direct sun.

Thank you!

Comments (11)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    13 years ago