Return to the Plant Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Creeping Thyme/ Whitleys Speedwell /Scotch/Irish Moss Propagation

Posted by mscolere 3 - Calgary, Ab (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 29, 08 at 14:35

I am in the process of pre planning for next spring for phase 2 of my 3 phase landscaping project. I am in the process of smothering my grass this year and will be replacing my former lawn with existing varieties of creeping thyme (elfin and bressingham pink), whitley's speedwell, scotch moss and irish moss next spring. The plants I have vary in size and age. My Bressingham pink thyme is 3 years old and consists of 6 plants when they were first planted. My whitley's speedwell is only 2 plants worth at 3 years old. The elfin thyme (6 plants), and both moss's (2 plants each) were purchased this year.
Does anyone know when and how to propagate my existing plant to be able to create full flats of plugs? I have never done this before and I dont even know where to start. In all I will need a flat of each variety (total 4 to 5 flats X 72 plugs) to fill the are when I will be replacing my front lawn. Is it even possible to propagate these plants in the spring when the are dormant? Or would I have to wait until they start growing again in the spring?
Your help is much appreciated!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Creeping Thyme/ Whitleys Speedwell /Scotch/Irish Moss Propaga

I've had good success with various thymes from seed. Never tried to divide, though.

o

Creeping Thyme & Speedwell.... take tip cuttings of firm new growth. apply 0.1% IBA Rooting hormone) stick in well drained soil & mist taking 7-30 days to root.
Irish moss from seed or small plugs taken in spring

o

I would like to know where you got your Whitleys Speedwell from. I have been looking for that plant and have been unsuccessful in finding it.

Thank you for your help!

o