Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mac62_gw

dying plants,growing wiegela and trees in a pot?

mac62
14 years ago

I have again tried to transplant a good sized Rose of Sharon,another unknown type bush-variegated. A magnolia tree. I used top soil bought from lowes with miracle grow soil to put around them. I have kept them watered. They are not looking like they are going to make it.suggestions?

2nd question. a japonica,wiegelia,smoke tree, can these be placed in large pots? or transplanted? (I will be moving in a few years.)

3rd question. I would like to get some offshoots of some oak leaf hydrangea of my mothers plants-suggestions on the best course for their success?

Thank you all for your help and suggestions as my thumb seems to be a bit brown right now.

mac 62

Comments (2)

• greenamanda
    14 years ago

I'm no expert, so these are just tips:)

Changing the soil can be stressful on the plant. If you are removing it from the ground, use at least some of the natural soil. "Miracle Grow" is a neat benefit now problem later sort of product. Some of the nutrients are fantastic, but some varieties of soils and foods contains hormones that encourage fast growth which only cause weakness later. I like to get a simple B complex and regular compost (I use my horses for that), peat moss, and perlite. None of this means the soil is your problem, to that question I honestly don't know the answer.