Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ms_minnamouse

Stubborn blueberry

ms_minnamouse
17 years ago

A branch separated from the plant when they were planted so I cut the bottom and make scores under the nodes and dipped in rooting hormone.

Then I put it in a container with water and two aerators going.

The branch looks fresh and great but it's been a long while and still no roots.

The only other thing I can think of is to put a heating pad under it.

Any other suggestions?

Comments (8)

• katrina1
    17 years ago

I am still a novice when it comes to propagating from cuttings, so please forgive me if my logic in this response turns out to be wrong.

Did you stick the cutting in a sand or other propagating mixture? To me your post reads as if you are trying to get the cutting to root in aerated water. If that truely is the case, than most likely the the rooting hormone was washed or diluted off from being stuck in the water.

Otherwise, If the cutting is planted in a granular non-soil mixture, Your idea of implementing the bottom warming technique seems to be a reasonable idea to help the rooting.

I do not know enough about how long your "long while" actually is or about that bottom warming process to suggest if the current timing is right for using the method with your stubbornly slow rooting cutting.

Have the places where you scored the nodes made the node swell as the tissue thickens? I am a little confused about why you scored the nodes, because the web sites I have accessed about how to propogate from cuttings instruct to cut off at about a half inch below the third node down from the tip of the cutting. That indicates to me that the bottom node should not be stuck into the soil. From you past experience, do you think am I mistaken concerning that understanding?