Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
west9491

easy cuttn's

west9491
15 years ago

what are some easy to propagate by cutting plants?

I'm newb @ it and most everything i've tried has not worked,

but...the other day I stuck a coleus stem in some water and it was covered in roots a few days later, kinda fun....

what i'd really like to propagate are Japan. Map. and hydrangea macophyllas I've actually got these hydrangea cuttings and a glass right now, the j. maple? didn't do so hot, actually planted it in some soil and used Rootone, but where i can't be home all the time to water it, it dried up, even with only 2 puny leaves on it.

Comments (5)

• Carol_from_ny
    15 years ago

Read thru or do a search here for propagation chamber. You will find the chamber will help your efforts a great deal. I'm a newbie at rooting too. I read the info bought the supplies and I've got stuff rooting in my chamber right now. I even made an alteration in my chamber. where it says to use glue on the bottom of the pot I used a tight fitting cork. Works just as well.

• medontdo
    15 years ago

a zip lock baggie is fine,i blow my air into it and zip it closed. also you can use just a regular pot, soil (stay green aqua control) and stick holes into the damp soil, dip the plant into the rooting horomone, make sure the horomone covers the node (where a leaf comes out, which you will have taken off), put that into the hole, push the soil around the plant, then mist it daily. don't forget to pull the leaves off up to about the first set up. then when you have new growth you'll know. at least thats'my excuse!! LOL water when you need it. keep in filtered light. hope that helps!!
    ~Medo

• flora_uk
    15 years ago