Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bama647

gardenias

bama647
13 years ago

Hi I have a few gardenias that I have started from cuttings recently. They are very small at the moment but I intend on potting them and growing indoors through the winter. I'm wondering how big of pot I will need to do this? I am new at this and would appreciate any help on things I may have not considered to do this successfully. Thank-you in advance for any help.

Comments (5)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    13 years ago

You should be able to keep them in small pots over the winter, 6 inchs or less. If they are barely rooted cuttings, I'd probably stick them in 4 inch pots. Be sure to select your potting mix with care or make your own. You'll want something very porous.

You need to know that gardenias don't really like being grown inside the typical home, so do the best you can to find the coolest, most humid location you can. They just don't make good houseplants.

• garystpaul
    13 years ago

Bama, being a transplanted Californian, gardenia lover, and masochist to boot, I'm constantly reaching for the brass ring of success with this plant. As rhizo suggests, there's not a lot of reason for optimism. Still, I urge you to try. Here's what I would do in your place (but first allow me a gripe: I do wish folks would indicate where they're gardening or at least which ZONE they're in; it often helps when giving advice...OK, gripe over):

Â Plant more than one cutting in a pot, maybe two or three cuttings, in a smaller pot, again as rhizo suggests. I would use a potting soil that drains well and that contains peat moss (for the acid; gardenias are acid lovers) and, if possible, some good quality leafmold, which can be hard to come by.