Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gratefulgardener3300

how well does this guy work?

I just got this bad boy as a gift and wanted to know if anyone has has experience with it. Please let me know good or bad.

Here is a link that might be useful: The Rooter Pot

Comments (6)

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    14 years ago

I have no experience with it, but I'll give my impressions anyway.

First, if it was a gift, you can't beat the price! I don't see it being worth much more than a piece of sheet plastic for the task, but the price you paid (free) is right.

Be careful about filling the reservoir with water. I think too much moisture could lead to rot instead of root.

It's hard to tell how it grips the tree from the pictures in the link. With a piece of plastic, you aren't limited to a certain size. The Rooter Pot appears to have a limited range of acceptable stem size.

If I was given a set of these, I'd try them, but I doubt I'd fork out the money to pay for them otherwise.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    14 years ago

The purported advantage of this pot compared to the traditional method, is the reservoir of water intended to keep the moss damp with out your constant attention. I have used these and find you must be careful to chose a branch VERY upright so water can be added at the top. You should also wrap the outside with aluminum foil to keep out light and keep the roots from heating due to the sun. For me I think the old way is easier and if sealed properly and the moss is prepared carefully adding water will not be necessary. Mine were not a gift either. Al

• madrone
    14 years ago