Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susie_mercedes

how to winter forsythia cuttings

susie_mercedes
12 years ago

I have some forsythia cuttings that I started last summer (I think it was in July). How should they be wintered? Are they too small to be planted or should they be wintered in a garage or something? If I put them in the garage will they need special lighting and treatment? The weather has suddenly turned cold and I need to figure out what to do rather quickly. This is my first time doing cuttings.

Comments (6)

• kayjones
    12 years ago

Forsythia is very hardy. I'd go ahead and plant them and mulch them well. Make sure to keep them watered a couple of times a week for a month, until they get settled in and grow some feeder and tap roots, then they should be fine.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

well.. you found out how easy it is to succeed ...

you could have just stuck the cuttings in the ground.. and have a very high success rate..

so on that logic.. just plant them ...

and worse comes to worse.. start some new ones next spring ...

did you know.. that the flowers are already set on older plants.. and you can take cutting in feb or so.. and bring the bare sticks in.. and they will flower in the house ... and then root

just plant them.. ken

ps: since we tend to learn most form experimenting.. and you have a lot of them.. keep two in pots.. and try storing them.. and see what happens ....

• susie_mercedes
    Original Author
    12 years ago