Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chome360

propagating fig tree

chome360
11 years ago

I'm extremely new growing fig trees, in fact this is my first attempt. My mom has an outstanding Desert King in her yard that's she's had for about 15 years. A few months back she saw a couple branches growing out near the base of the tree which were dipping down to the ground. She covered up the portions that were touching the ground with dirt. They ended up growing some roots where she had them buried. She dug them up, cut them below the roots and gave them to me to plant as separate trees. Unfortunately, before she had done that, she had already pruned those branches back. So what I have is two trees that are basically chopped off at the top. They're about 3 feet tall and 1/2 inch in diameter. My question is, is there a way to train these to grow into a "tree" instead of a "bush", or am I going to be stuck with a bush?

Comments (11)

• chome360
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here's a picture of one of the fig trees

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

will it be going outside.. into mother earth???

the amount of sunlight it gets.. MIGHT determine what form it takes..

all trees re-leader ... it will be up to you.. to prune it into what you want ...

your potting media.. does not look good for a tree ... it will probably 'hold' much more water.. than the tree will need or want ...

the only question left.. and i know nothing about fig.. is whether moms tree was a graft.. and whether.. you will get the same figs as mom had.. from a root sucker ... if no one here gives that answer.. try the fruit forum ...

ken

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    11 years ago

Figs are usually grown on their own root. You can prune yours to what ever you want it to be. Al

• chome360
    Original Author
    11 years ago