Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
momcat2000_gw

1920's gardens

momcat2000
20 years ago

i've been working on/researching 1920's gardens for about the last 12 years. i live in a 1927 brick 4 square and try to create the feel of a bungalow/grandmother's/cottage/1920's garden around my house. anyone else working with this same time period? lets's talk........

Comments (70)

• rjyoaslh
    20 years ago

Wow, great picture, Tessa! This is what I think of when I picture the gardens of 19 teens and 20s. Thanks for the encouragement, too. The one good thing about having a clean slate from which to work is that I can plan carefully and be choosy in selecting plants. My Old House Gardens email newsletter recommends "Restoring American Gardens: An Encyclopedia of Heirloom, Ornamental Plants, 1640-1940" by Denise Adams. I pulled it up on Amazon and think it looks like a great resource for garden design with a historical perspective. It's hot off the presses, too!

• Barbara_Schwarz
    20 years ago

I love this site! I come to these forums to see if I am doing things 'correctly' (that's relative, I know), for new ideas, and where I can make improvements. Considering our front 'yard' consisted of nothing but grass and one great big cactus (???) I've made pretty good progress in 5-6 years.

What got me all excited was tessaSDCA's photo (for the life of me I can't figure out how you put a photo in a post?!?)... take a peek at my front walkway, which is actually my veggie garden, in the link below! At least I'm on the right track. Now, if I can convince my husband to let me get rid of what little lawn we have left.... I'll admit to being a slut for color and heirlooms and never have enough room for all that I want to grow.

Barbara

Here is a link that might be useful: My front walkway

• ginny12
    20 years ago