Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mojogarden

Huge Area - Don't know what to do with it.

mojogarden
17 years ago

Hi all!

I just moved into a house about two years ago and have inherited a 600 sq. ft. area that I believe was a perennial garden at some point. A bindweed killed most of the plants and IÂve been trying to control the weed by pulling- I think IÂve been fairly successful. Of course, now I have this huge area to fill and have no idea what to do with it. IÂd like flowers and shrubs, but am overwhelmed at the size and the price. I am a novice gardener, so my skills are limited. Does anyone have any ideas on how I should fill this space quickly and economically?

Comments (5)

• davidinct
    17 years ago

Have you considered a wildflower mix? 600 sq feet will run $15 or $30 if you buy by the pound. I bought some from
    Peaceful Valley Farm & Garden Supply last week but there are numerous suppliers with all sorts of interesting mixes.

I have about an acre of bare lawn and I can't afford to dress it up all at once. Starting from the front with flowers beds and vegetables and tossing wildflowers in back to hold the terrority as I decide what to do with it. Even a clover is nice and it will enrich the soil (Peaceful Valley has more clovers and vetches than I knew existed).

• lyn_r
    17 years ago

I agree that a wildflower mix would be a quick fix, but it would only be a one season solution. Next year you would have a difficult time trying to determine the flowers from the weeds, and what to pull out and what to leave.

The good news is you can find a lot of help right here on the Garden Web forums to start this season. Many generous gardeners offer seeds just for the postage and a bubble envelope on the Seed Exchange forum.

Also visit the Winter Sowing forum and introduce yourself as a newbie and explain your situation. You will get TONS of inspiration and all the help you need to sow from seed.