Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heddarosa_gw

Pea Gravel...

heddarosa
13 years ago

I recently moved into a new home that had a lot of defered maintenence in the yard and then sat vacant for 10 months prior to our pruchasing it, so think are in pretty bad shape. Add to that, I'm a novice gardener.

We have one area of about 20'X40' that is partly to mostly shaded. I want this area to become a Child's Garden for my kids. The problem I need to solve is that it is covered in an inch or two of pea-gravel that has all kinds of weeds and grass growing up through it. Under that the soil is a heavy clay with large gravel mixed in, probably just what the builder left behind when the house was built.

Should we try to remove the weeds and pea gravel and weeds ammend the clay underneath and then put down grass seed or sod? Or should we find a ground cover to grow over the pea gravel and hope it will choke out the weeds eventually?

Thanks for any help!

Comments (3)

• linda_schreiber
    13 years ago

In your last para, the first question is an incredible amount of work and will take a long time and a fair amount of money. The second is unlikely to work, and if it eventually does, may take so long that your children are starting high school and no longer interested....

There are better solutions. I'm guessing that your "Children's Garden" concept is more than just garden areas for the kids. You're looking at maybe a swing, crawl-arounds, other play areas, maybe a treehouse, etc?

I would build up instead of digging down. It's safer for the kids to get more 'padding' between themselves and the gravel, and also the rocky clay below. Both are painful falls.