Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
belleduggan

Overwhelmed by inherited garden

belleduggan
9 years ago

I have an older established flower garden that I inherited when I bought this house. It has been neglected for quite some time by the previous owners which has resulted in plants and plantings growing together and becoming intertwined making it difficult to determine which should stay and which should go. My question is how do you decide that? How much if any open ground should be left between the plantings? I have included a picture which I recently took, after clearing off years of deadfall and weeds.

I would appreciate any help or advice, as I am new to gardening and feeling very overwhelmed.

Comments (17)

• gardenper
    9 years ago

Actually the broad picture that you show doesn't look too bad . I'm sure close-ups would be different.

You should first identify what plants you have, if you don't know them. For that, take close up shots and put them in the "Name that Plant" section for others to help.

Knowing the plants and what are near them will help determine how much space you might want to put in between. At the same time, keep in mind that a naturalized look isn't all terrible, especially in a garden that looks like it has been around for a while.

• Michaela (Zone 5b - Iowa)
    9 years ago

Hi there. We purchased our house last year and found ourselves in a very similar situation. The couple that lived here was here for over 60 years, and as they got older they couldn't garden anymore and things got very overgrown w/ weeds, trees that weren't meant to be planted, poison ivy, etc.

I agree... if you don't know what it is and are worried about removing anything you may want - definitely wait and ask! I ripped out 20+ oriental poppies when we first moved in because I was new to gardening and thought they were weeds since the leaves and stems were fuzzy.