Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mstrgrdnr

Historic design for fence pickets?

mstrgrdnr
19 years ago

Hello All,

My family and I are fortunate enough to own and love a home that was built circa 1880. We have done extensive research to find old photos of the property and the home without much luck.

We are about to undertake a fencing project which will fence in the front yard along the sidewalk as well as around my veggie garden.

Do any of you have any ideas about where I can find a unique but historically accurate design for my fence pickets? I don't want to use the same old tired cookie cutter look that everyone else has. I am a skilled woodworker and am willing and able to cut the pickets myself if I can find an appropriate design.

My trips to Savannah and Charleston have not been very fruitful. Most of the fencing there is iron and the few wooden fences that are there are modern.

Any ideas or assistance would be appreciated. This will be a project for the Fall once the Jawja Summer has released its grip.

Thanks,

Aubrey

Comments (7)

• RipFL
    19 years ago

Aubrey,

Here in the lower South many fences during that period were simple paling fences. These were straight boards 3-4 inches wide, with the tops cut on an angle of about 45 degrees. The height varied from 3-4 feet, with the higher fences usually found around gardens to keep out the critters. Posts were set about 8 feet apart with two stringers nailed on, one near the top and the other near the bottom. The palings were then nailed to the stringers with a spacing of about 2 inches. It was not at all uncommon for fences in rural areas to be left un-painted and in many case the palings were hand split (rived) from logs rather than being sawn at a mill.

Hope this helps.

Rip Stalvey

• AshaK
    19 years ago

the book FENCES Authentic Details for Design and Restoration by Peter J. Harrison -- John Wiley and Sons 1999