Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scarlettanne_gw

LARGE overgrown garden... what and when and how?

ScarlettAnne
9 years ago

I saw a few posts similar to mine... bought a house, it belonged to a little old lady who loved to garden until her health wouldn't let her, it's run wild for about 5 years. Lots and lots of garden. It was all either a.) completely overgrown with weeds and the hardier flowers, or b.) completely overgrown with English Ivy 3 inches thick.

Most of them, I can manage given enough time and labor, it's just a matter of thinning and moving things. I'm a garden newbie (I'd say my thumb is yellow, on the green to black scale) and the parts I have cleared this year bounced back nicely. Her preference for flowers seemed to be hardy, spreads like a champion, and attracts hummingbirds. Bonus points if it's purple.

The back yard is the problem. I have drawn a map, green I have gotten up to snuff, yellow is waiting. I have hill, about 10 feet deep, that runs the property line on the back. At the top are some trees for a natural fence (which they mangled right before they put the house on the market) overrun by ivy. I'll put pics in another post, since I seem to be able to only add one right now.

We needed to see what was there, so we let it grow this summer. It made a nice little jungle for the dogs, but it's a LOT of real estate to just let go. There's a lot of pretty virulent stuff in there, there's not even a hint as to what the original design was. I'm also not sure I have the time to maintain that much garden even if I get it back. We're talking about getting rid of everything but the fence, and getting it back to grass. I have to assume the roots are ferocious though.